FRIENDS AND NEIGHBORS

I hoped to update you on my progress, but unfortunately it has been minimal. I’ve only recently retired as the President of our HOA.  An all-consuming two-year job, but I did actually enjoy the challenges.

Now retired for a month, I began playing golf on the executive course within our community.  I play golf for its social aspects that is punctuated with frustration.  Ask any golfer how they played and not a single one will state, “Terrific.  Best game ever!”  There is always a comment about a bad swing, missed putt, topped ball, etc.

On our golf course, the “friends and neighbors” story evolved.  My neighbor and I talked about writing as we walked the course while cursing our bad performance.  He had started a story many years ago and then quit.  I told him about my efforts.  He was intrigued by my concept.  He asked if I would send him a few chapters.  We then met to discuss.  I found his insights revealing which again stimulated my excitement about writing.  I then learned our deliberations caused him to dust off his draft and begin reformatting his story.

We have now created an informal support group sharing our drafts, ideas, and challenges.  Hopefully from this alliance, we will both move closer to completing our novels. 

Life definitely works in mysterious ways.

My next update will be at the end of June.  Stay safe and well.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment